Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Don't forget... With the upgrades you can change the theme in your profile.
The "Original" theme is available again. Choose "Old SurvivalistsSite Theme (2.0) for the "Original" theme.

The links above will open in a new window.

Would you like to advertise on SurvivalistsSite.com? For more information email ads@survivalistssite.com

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Summer of Canning  (Read 3504 times)

rthepunk

• View Profile
Summer of Canning
« on: June 26, 2008, 08:10:28 PM »

A few groups that most of us here belong to keep talking about a high PF.  I've been prepping for 2 years, mainly learning the old ways, country ways of my great grandparents who were homesteaders.  Back atthe turn of the centruy, most rural folks were homestead farmers.  My PF has been up and down for 2 years, but the overall trend is up.  Keeping an eye on all the financial news, I'm thinking that this summer is very important for pulling in a much harvest as possible.  To that end,I'm canning and saving everything.

So far this season, I've canned: several dozen pints asparagus, several dozen strawberry jam, dozen sweet cherry jam, and black raspberry jam.  I'm picking my blueberries tomorrow and will put up a dozen or so pints for pies and other cooking items.  Heck, if I can get a lot more before I pass out from the sun, I'll dehydrate a bunch like I did with some strawberries.

My garden is starting to come in.  I picked a bowl full of string beans today.  Probably 2 quarts full, but I prepped and frozen them.  Although I'm in the city on abut 1/8 of an acre, I'm planted intensely.  It was a nice link with the ancestors -- putting the beans I was picking in an old metal bowl that had been my grandmas.

Best to all,
Susan

Sustainablehome

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • My SurvivalistsSite.com Community Page:
Re: Summer of Canning